Strength & Peace in Pain

This has been an I’ve-never-been-more-miserable-season.

Cancer took my dad. I’m watching my husband help his dad fight cancer…

I hate cancer.

But I also want you to know I’ve never been more filled with strength and peace only God can give.

“… when we are weak, He is strong…”

-2 Corinthians 12:9

“…peace which surpasses all under standing…”

-Philippians 4:7

Trauma has a way of bringing us to a day-by-day, moment-by-moment pace as it forces us to measure our powerlessness, and stop enforcing and inserting our own strength and resolution into crisis as we realize we’re asking the impossible of ourselves, ultimately surrendering to the gift of pain, letting God be God. I can stop playing god by setting down my self sufficiency.

At least this is what trauma is teaching me.

Exhaling as I hand the reigns of control and masks of, “I can do this on my own,” pride to Him.

I’m a Christ follower because I’m broken and need a Healer. So I get to be broken, because I am.

Releasing.

Exhaling.

So as I continue in this season of trauma which is seeming to be my new normal–with crisis being my break–I need you to know I’m OK. Ney, I’m better than OK, I’m thriving in the covering of my Healer God, watching Him work His strength and peace in the most miraculous of ways.

I wouldn’t change that for anything.

He is my, “Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.”

-Isaiah 9:6

This is my way of saying thank you for praying as your petitions are my life line, but I don’t want any to worry. God is in control, and I’m encouraged.

Today’s devotional from “Jesus Calling,” by Sarah Young is a reflection of my heart sentiments above, and also a gesture of appreciation for your love and support.

Grace Gratitudes,

-rk

November 4 Devotional, “Jesus Calling,” Sarah Young:

Walk peacefully with Me through this day.

You are wondering how you will cope with all that is expected of you.

You must traverse this day like any other: one step at a time.

Instead of mentally rehearsing how you will do this or that,

keep your mind on My Presence and on taking the next step.

The more demanding your day, the more help you can expect from Me.

This is a training opportunity,

since I designed you for deep dependence on your Shepherd-King.

Challenging times wake you up and amplify your awareness of needing My help.

When you don’t know what to do, wait while I open the way before you.

Trust that I know what I’m doing, and be ready to follow My lead.

I will give strength to you, and I will bless you with Peace.

*

-Exodus 33:14

-Deuteronomy 33:25

-Hebrews 13:20–21

-Psalm 29:11

IMG_6480

2 thoughts on “Strength & Peace in Pain

  1. Pingback: Hello, there. | GRACE GRATITUDES

  2. Pingback: One Day at a Time |

Your Grace Gratitudes are warmly welcome.

